Liverpool City Council's Cabinet 2023/24

Council’s new Cabinet unveiled

The new Leader of Liverpool City Council, Cllr Liam Robinson, has announced who will sit in his Cabinet.

Councillor Liam Robinson made the announcement at last night’s Annual Council Meeting after the Labour group won a large majority in May’s local elections.

Cllr Ruth Bennett has been appointed Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member for Finance, Resources and Transformation.

Cllr Dan Barrington is making an immediate return to Cabinet, in the role of Cabinet Member for Transport and Connectivity. Cllr Barrington will also become Deputy Leader.

Other appointees include:

  • Cllr Lila Bennett – Cabinet Member for Employment, Educational Attainment and Skills
  • Cllr Harry Doyle – Cabinet Member for Health, Wellbeing and Culture
  • Cllr Sarah Doyle – Cabinet Member for Housing
  • Cllr Frazer Lake – Cabinet Member for Adult Social Services
  • Cllr Liz Parsons – Cabinet Member for Children’s Social Services
  • Cllr Laura Robertson-Collins – Cabinet Member for Communities, Neighbourhoods and Streetscene
  • Cllr Nick Small – Cabinet Member for Growth and Economy

All appointments were ratified Liverpool City Council’s Annual Meeting on Wednesday, 17 May at Liverpool Town Hall.

Cllr Robinson, who will lead on the council’s Climate Change and Net Zero policies, said the key priorities for his Cabinet will be to:

  • Deliver a greener, more environmentally friendly city, whilst encouraging the creation of sustainable economic growth
  • Supporting residents through the Cost of Living Crisis and fighting to minimise poverty
  • Embracing innovation to transform Council services, which will improve residents’ experience whilst delivering cost saving benefits
  • Continue the improvement journey, working with Commissioners to ensure the intervention ends punctually, and leaves behind a genuinely leading local authority

Cllr Robinson pledged he and his cabinet “would work morning, noon and night to deliver the very best services for the people of Liverpool.

“There is a huge amount of work to do, not least to complete the Council’s improvement journey, and we are fully prepared for the task at hand.”

Full Council also approved the appointment of Cllr Mary Rasmussen as the new Lord Mayor, with Cllr Richard Kemp appointed Deputy Lord Mayor.

Liverpool new Lord Mayor, Cllr Mary Rasmussen and Deputy Lord Mayor, Cllr Richard Kemp

Liverpool Waterfront