Liverpool's famous waterfront at night

Government gives green light to combined authority

The Government has given its support to establish a combined authority for Liverpool City Region, paving the way for it to come into effect on 1 April.

Orders have been laid in parliament, starting the legal process to set up the Combined Authority.

The Combined Authority was recommended following a review of the strategic governance in the City Region last year, which Government subsequently consulted upon.

The new body will lead work on economic development, transport, housing and employment and skills in the City Region to support businesses to grow and create jobs. It will not result in the merger or takeover of existing council functions, nor will it be a “super council”.

It will provide clear leadership and greater transparency, while creating a legal entity which would be in a position to attract funding and devolved powers from Government.

Mayor of Liverpool, Joe Anderson,  said “Working together in this way will put us in a much stronger position when negotiating with government and enable us to make key strategic decisions supporting jobs, growth and regeneration in Liverpool and the whole City Region.”

The Liverpool City Region consists of the following councils: Liverpool, Halton, Knowsley, St Helen’s, Sefton and Wirral.

All six councils will need to confirm their commitment to the Combined Authority in the coming weeks. A report will go before Liverpool City Council’s Cabinet on February 28 and Council on March 5.

Liverpool Waterfront