Long service on Council rewarded


Former councillors from Liverpool will be rewarded in recognition of their services to the City Council on Monday 25 September.

At a special ceremony at Liverpool Town Hall, Lord Mayor, Councillor Malcolm Kennedy will present medals to the nine newly appointed Honorary Aldermen and women of the City of Liverpool.

The councillors are from different political backgrounds and between them have decades of experience as elected members, some in senior roles.

Councillor Kennedy said: “I am delighted to be awarding these men and women with medals recognising their hard work and dedication to Liverpool City Council and to the residents of the City of Liverpool.

“I know many of them personally from my time on the council and know that they ll made an enormous contribution to the city and gave up their own free time in order to do so.

“I congratulate them and thank them on behalf of the city of Liverpool.”

The nine are:

• David Antrobus
• Christopher Lenton
• Peter Millea
• Norman Mills
• William Owen
• Ian Phillips
• Maggie McDaid
• Peter Coventry
• Peter Allen


Liverpool Waterfront